Governor Abbott has appointed Philosophical Society member, Dr. Donald S. Frazier, Director of the Texas Center at Schreiner University, to the 1836 Project Advisory Committee. Frazier will serve as the Committee's presiding officer. More information about theCommittee can be read here

Philosophical Society member Charles Butt, chairman of H-E-B, is personally donating $1 million to Prairie View A&M University in honor of its president, also a Philosophical Society member, Ruth J. Simmons. A Houston Chronicle article about the award can be read here.

Nobel Prize-winning scientist and Philosophical Society member, Dr. James P. Allison, has been named a 2020 History-Making Texan by the Texas State History Museum Foundation.  Allison and other winners will be honored at the Texas Independence Day Dinner at the Bullock Texas State History Museum in Austin on March 2.



The Art of Texas: 250 Years, based on the book of the same title by Ron Tyler, will close August 25, 2019. It is currently on view at The Witte Museum in San Antonio. The major and massive exhibition features artists ranging from 19th century Theodore Gentilz to 20th century Georgia O’Keeffe. The more than one hundred art pieces include a mural by John Biggers, a sculpture by Jesús Moroles, and a painting by Julian Onderdonk, “Chili Queens at the Alamo,” that once graced the Oval Office during President George W. Bush’s time in the White House. Art has travel ed from museums and collectors from throughout the United States for the exhibition.