Annual Meetings of the Philosophical Society of Texas are open to members, their guests, and the spouses of late members.

Meetings are closed to the public.

photo of galveston building

Topic: Health Care: Where Are We and Where Are We Going?
Date: February 7-9, 2020
Place: Galveston, Texas

Download Meeting Schedule

Register Online (Please note that the Society does not accept credit cards at this time, so a check will need to be mailed after completing registration.)

Meeting Registration Form (Please email the form to theThis email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..)

Travel and Location Information

Book accommodations at The Hotel Galvez (overflow hotel) by calling (409) 515-2154. (The room block at The Tremont House Hotel is full.) The room rate is the same for both hotels, but buses to UTMB and evening events run only from The Tremont House Hotel. There is a shuttle between the two hotels on an "as available" basis.

The Philosophical Society of Texas will hold the 182nd annual meeting in Houston on February 7-9, 2020, at The Tremont House hotel and the University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB). The 2019-2020 president, Dr. David L. Callender, is preparing a program on the subject of “Health Care: Where Are We and Where Are We Going?"

An optional Galveston Historical Tour and/or tour of the Galveston National Laboratory (GNL) will be offered on Friday, February 7th

Friday evening, attendees will be transported to the opening reception at the stunning Bryan Museum. After the reception, guests will receive an official welcome to Galveston, Mardi Gras style at the historic 1880 Garten Verein pavilion. New members will be inducted and guests will enjoy a live interview with Bryan Museum founder J.P. Bryan. A seated dinner will follow.

On Saturday, attendees will travel to UTMB’s Health Education Center for the meeting sessions. The Society’s book prizes for 2018 will be awarded during lunch. The afternoon includes a midafternoon tour of the Health Education Center followed by the concluding session. Continuous transport will be provided throughout the day between UTMB and The Tremont House.

Festivities on Saturday evening will be at UTMB’s Moody Medical Library, including a cocktail reception, with an opportunity to tour the Rare Books collection at UTMB. The library's holdings of books published prior to 1501 place it among the top medical sciences libraries in the United States. The seated dinner will conclude with a program moderated by Dr. Kirk Calhoun.

The 2019 Annual Meeting will close with the business meeting on Sunday morning at The Tremont House.

Meeting Attire:
Day meetings are business casual and evening events are business attire. Friday tour attendees should wear comfortable clothes and shoes for walking.

Please note: The Annual Meetings of the Philosophical Society of Texas are open to all members of the Society, to their guests, and to the spouses of late members. The meetings are closed to the public.

Please direct any questions to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

2021 Annual Meeting

Topic: To be announced
Date: Feburary 5 - 7, 2021
Location: AT&T Conference Center in Austin


2022 Annual Meeting

Topic: The Future of Work
Date: Feburary 4 - 6, 2022
Location: Hotel Paseo del Norte in El Paso

1837 Founded at Houston, December 5
1840 Austin, January 29
1936 Chartered, January 18
1936 Reorganizational Meeting - Dallas, December 5
1937 Meeting and Inaugural Banquet - Dallas, January 29
1937 Liendo and Houston, December 4
1938 Dallas
1939 Dallas
1940 San Antonio
1941 Austin
1942 Dallas
1943 Dallas
1944 Dallas
1945 Dallas
1946 Dallas
1947 San Antonio
1948 Houston
1949 Lufkin
1950 Houston
1951 Lufkin
1952 College Station
1953 Dallas
1954 Austin
1955 Nacogdoches
1956 Austin
1957 Dallas
1958 Austin
1959 San Antonio
1960 Fort Clark
1961 Salado
1962 Salado
1963 Nacogdoches
1964 Austin
1965 Salado
1966 Salado
1967 Arlington
1968 San Antonio
1969 Salado
1970 Salado
1971 Nacogdoches
1972 Dallas
1973 Austin (Lakeway Inn)
1974 Austin
1975 Fort Worth
1976 San Antonio
1977 Galveston
1978 Houston
1979 Austin
1980 San Antonio
1981 Dallas
1982 Galveston
1983 Fort Worth
1984 Houston
1985 College Station
1986 Austin
1987 Kerrville
1988 Dallas
1989 San Antonio
1990 Houston
1991 Galveston
1992 Dallas
1993 Laredo
1994 Austin
1995 Corpus Christi
1996 Dallas
1997 Houston
1998 Abilene
1999 Austin
2000 San Antonio
2001 Austin
2002 Fort Worth
2003 El Paso
2004 Denton/ Fort Worth
2005 Galveston
2006 Dallas
2007 Houston
2008 San Antonio
2009 Austin
2010 San Angelo
2012 Dallas
2013 College Station
2014 Fort Worth
2015 Tyler
2016 Houston
2017 Waco
2018 San Antonio
2019  Dallas