About the Book Award

The Philosophical Society of Texas presents three literary awards annually, each with a $2,500 prize: one for a work of fiction, one for a nonfiction book, and one for a volume of poetry. The winning authors are invited to attend the Annual Meeting to receive the awards and sign books. Judges may withhold the awards at their discretion.

The submission deadline for the 2020 awards (books published in 2019) has passed.  The guidelines can be seen here. The 2020 award recipients will be announced during the 2021 Annual Meeting to be held virtually on February 5th.

book cover

Megan Peak, Girldom, 2018

book cover

Andrew Sansom, Seasons at Selah: The Legacy of the Bamberger Ranch Preserve, 2018

book cover

Elizabeth Crook, The Which Way Tree, 2018

Dan Williams, Past Purgatory, a Distant Paradise, 2017

Andrew Sansom and William E. Reaves Of Texas Rivers and Texas Art, 2017

Chanelle Benz, The Man Who Shot Out My Eye Is Dead, 2017

Jonathan Fink, Barbarossa, 2016

Kenneth Hafertepe, The Material Culture of German Texans, 2016

Dominic Smith, The Last Painting of Sara de Vos, 2016

James Hoggard, James Hoggard: New and Selected Poems 2015

book cover

Ron J. Jackson Jr. and Lee Spencer White, Joe: The Slave Who Became an Alamo Legend 2015

book cover

Sanderia Faye, Mourner's Bench: A Novel 2015

Christian Wiman, Once in the West 2014

Katie Robinson Edwards, Midcentury Modern Art in Texas 2014

book cover

James Magnuson, Famous Writers I Have Known: A Novel 2014

Sarah Bird, Above the East China Sea 2014

Raúl Coronado, A World Not to Come: A History of Latino Writing and Print Culture 2013

Thomas Zigal, Many Rivers to Cross 2013

Jan Reid, Let the People In: The Life and Times of Ann Richards, University of Texas Press, 2012

Ben Rehder, The Chicken Hanger: A Novel, Texas Christian University Press, 2012

Michael Berryhill, The Trials of Eroy Brown:The Murder Case that Shook the Texas Prison System, University of Texas Press, 2011

Gerald Duff, Blue Sabine, 2011

Dan K. Utley and Cynthia J. Beeman, History Ahead: Stories beyond the Texas Roadside Markers, Texas A&M University Press, 2010.

Emilio Zamora, Claiming Rights and Righting Wrongs in Texas: Mexican Workers and Job Politics During World War II, Texas A&M University Press, 2009

Pekka Hämäläinen, Comanche Empire, Yale University Press, 2008

Stephen Fox, The Country Houses of John F. Staub, Texas A&M University Press, 2007

Richard B. McCaslin, At the Heart of Texas, 100 Years of the Texas State Historical Association, 1897-1997, Texas State Historical Association Press, 2006

Mavis P. Kelsey Sr. and Robin Brandt Hutchinon, Engraved Prints of Texas, 1554-1900. Texas A&M University Press, 2005

David La Vere, The Texas Indians, Texas A&M University Press, 2004

Randolph B. Campbell, Gone to Texas: A History of the Lone Star State, Oxford University Press, 2003

James L. Haley, Sam Houston, University of Oklahoma Press, 2002

Hal K. Rothman, LBJ's Texas White House: "Our Heart's Home," Texas A&M University Press, 2001

Frank D. Welch, Philip Johnson & Texas, University of Texas Press, 2000