The Philosophical Society of Texas

            Two hundred ninety-eight members, spouses, and guests of the Philosophical Society of Texas gathered at the Renaissance Austin Hotel in Austin, December 3–5, 1999, for the Society’s 162nd anniversary meeting. President Patricia A. Hayes organized an exciting meeting on “Texas Values/Texas Future.” Members and guests enjoyed a Friday evening reception at the Jack S. Blanton Museum of Art and dinner at the University of Texas Alumni Center. President Hayes introduced the new members of the Society and presented them with their certificates of membership. The new members are: Marilyn Aboussie, Robert G. Breunig, Rufus Cormier Jr., Edwin Dorn, Juliet Villarreal Garcia, Howard D. Graves, Ricardo Romo, Jerry D. Thompson, and Judith Zaffirini.

            President Hayes served as moderator for the Saturday morning program. William Broyles was the moderator for the writer’s panel in the afternoon. We enjoyed an evening reception, dinner, and entertainment by Ed Miller at St. Edward’s University.

            At the annual business meeting, Vice President A. Baker Duncan read the names of the members of the Society who had died during the previous year: Henry Bell Jr., Bob Bullock, William E. Darden, Page Keeton, Dorothy Knepper, H. Malcolm Lovett, Ruel C. Walker, and Pauline Zachry.

Secretary Tyler announced that our membership stood 195 active members, 86 associate members, and 34 emeritus members.

The following officers were elected for the coming year: A. Baker Duncan, president; Ellen Temple, first vice president; George C. Wright, second vice president; J. Chrys Dougherty III, treasurer; and Ron Tyler, secretary.

            Sunday’s agenda included a lively panel discussion featuring Charles Ramírez-Berg, Jim Blackburn, Betty Sue Flowers, Stephen Harrigan, John Silber, and Peter Zandan with participation from members and guests. President Hayes declared the annual meeting adjourned, to be reconvened on December 1, 2000, in San Antonio.