The Philosophical Society of Texas

“The Land” was the topic of the 164th anniversary meeting of the Philosophical Society of Texas, held at Austin’s Marriott at the Capitol Hotel on November 30-December 2, 2001. A total of 334 members, spouses, and guests attended. President Ellen C. Temple organized the program, and Robert Breunig of the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center moderated.

The meeting began on Friday with lunch and a tour of the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, followed by a reception and dinner at the University of Texas Alumni Center. The evening featured readings by Liz Carpenter, Steve Harrigan, Elizabeth Crook, Tim Henderson, and Karen Kuykendall on the topic of “The Land We Know.”

President Temple announced the new members of the Society and presented them with their certificates of membership. The new members are Gregg Cantrell, Joyce Pate Capper, Betty Sue Flowers, Donald S. Frazier, Israel J. Galvan, Dee J. Kelly, Adair Wakefield Margo, Kathleen Shive Matthews, Paula Meredith Mosle, Raul Rodriguez, William A. Wise, and Robert E. Witt.

Frank D. Welch, an architect with Frank Welch and Associates in Dallas, received the 2000 Philosophical Society of Texas Book Award for the best book on Texas, either fiction or nonfiction, published in 2000. His Philip Johnson & Texas was published by the University of Texas Press.

Members and guests gathered for a reception and dinner at the Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum on Saturday evening. Attendees enjoyed the museum exhibits, which remained open for viewing during the evening, and danced to the music of Corkey Robinson and the Keynotes.

At the annual business meeting, held on Sunday morning, Vice-President George C. Wright read the names of Society members who had died during the previous year: Charles Nelson Prothro, Ralph H. Shuffler, and Dan C. Williams.

Secretary Ron Tyler announced that Society membership stood at 196 active members, 68 associate members, and 36 emeritus members.

Officers elected for the coming year are George C. Wright, president; J. Sam Moore, first vice-president; Alfred F. Hurley, second vice-president; J. Chrys Dougherty III, treasurer; and Ron Tyler, secretary.

An open discussion on “The Future of the Land” concluded the meeting, and President Temple declared the meeting adjourned until December 6,2002, in Fort Worth.