The Philosophical Society of Texas

   "United States Energy in a Global Context” was the topic of the 170th anniversary meeting of the Philosophical Society. President Isabel B. Wilson orchestrated a stimulating program, including discussions about the current and future state of this nation’s energy sources, technologies, politics, and economics. The meeting was held in Houston, Texas at the St. Regis Hotel. In attendance were 289 members, spouses, and guests.

   The meeting began on Friday December 7, 2007 with a reception and dinner within the galleries of the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. President Wilson introduced the eight new members and presented them with their certificates of membership. The new members were: David Wellington Chew, El Paso; Jesús F. de la Teja, Austin; Edward P. Djerejian, Houston; Sarita Armstrong Hixon, Houston; David W. Leebron, Houston; Steve H. Murdock, Helotes/Houston; David M. Oshinsky, Austin; and L. Michael White, Austin.

   Economists, academics, business people, and other energy experts contributed to the program, held at the James A. Baker III Institute of Public Policy at Rice University on Saturday. After a exciting day of presentations, the program resumed at the St. Regis’ Grand Ballroom for dinner and continued discussion.

   The annual business meeting was held on Sunday morning. Secretary Ron Tyler announced Society membership stood at 201 active members (due to an error in categorization of an active member as an associate member, only caught after the vacancy was filled), 71 associate members, and 73 emeritus members, for a grand total of 344 members. Officers elected for the year 2008 are as follows: Boone Powell, president; Michael L. Gillette, first vice-president; J. Mark McLaughlin, second vice-president; J. Chrys Dougherty, III, treasurer; and Ron Tyler, secretary. The names of the Society members who had passed away the previous year were read: Thomas D. Anderson, Houston; Edward N. Brandt Jr., Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; William C. Finch, Nashville, Tennessee; Durwood Fleming, Dallas; Norman Hackerman, Austin; William C. Harvin III, Houston; John L. Hill Jr., Houston; Claudia Taylor Johnson, Austin; Herbert H. Reynolds, Waco; and Elspeth Davies Rostow, Austin.

   A lively membership discussion about the weekend’s topic followed the business meeting. President Wilson adjourned the meeting until December 5–7, 2008 in San Antonio, Texas.