The Membership of the Philosophical Society

Membership is by invitation only and is limited to two hundred persons of distinction whose life and character have furthered the purposes for which the Society was established.

Bylaws of the Philosophical Society of Texas

Only persons who reside within, were born within, or at some time have resided within the geographical boundaries of the late Republic of Texas, are eligible for membership. Election occurs in the summer and is determined by a majority of the active members who have voted. All members may nominate and second persons for membership.

Nominations for membership are open until 5:00 p.m. on August 16, 2019. 
Letter regarding nominations
Nomination form

Members Only Section

The Society mourns those members who have died during this year. They are listed in the Member Updates section.

For the Year 2018–2019

David L. Callender, President - Galveston
Daniel H. Branch, First Vice-President - Dallas
Thomas R. Phillips, Second Vice-President – Austin
Lyndon L. Olson, Secretary – Austin
Harris L. Kempner Jr., Treasurer – Galveston
Michael H. Granof, Assistant Treasurer - Austin


David L. Callender - Galveston
Daniel H. Branch - Dallas
Thomas R. Phillips - Austin
Kay Bailey Hutchison - Dallas
Edward G. Steves - San Antonio
Kenneth W. Starr - Waco
Larry R. Faulkner - Houston and Austin
Kirk A. Calhoun – Tyler
Ron Tyler – Fort Worth
Jon H. Fleming – North Zulch
Frances B. Vick – Dallas